Wednesday, October 24, 2012

Hajj Guide: Hajj a Duty of a Muslim

"It is the duty of all mankind to come to the House, a pilgrim if he able to make his way there." (Sura, Aale Imraan 3:97)

Hajj consists of two parts;
1- Umrah e Tamatto (for entering Makkah)
2- Hajj e Tamatto

Umrah e Tamatto
(Anytime from 1st Shawwal to 8th Zulhijjah)

1. Ehraam (Niyya, wearing the clothes of Ehraam and recitation of Talbiyyah)
2. Tawaaf.
3. Namaaz of Tawaaf (2 units of Salaah near Maqaam e Ibraheem).
4. Sa'ee (walking 7x between the mountains of Safa and Marwah)
5. Taqseer (cutting some hair or nails).

Hajj e Tamatto (9th to 12th Zulhijjah)

Ehraam in Makka
1. Wuquf (stay) in Arafaat (Noon till Sunset on 9th Zulhijjah)
2. Wuquf in Muzdalifa (Mash'arul Haraam -collecting pebbles for hitting Shaitaan) Dawn till Sunrise of 10th of Zulhijjah.
3. Stoning of Jamaraat in Mina (hitting 7 pebbles only to Big Shaitaan) on 10th Zulhijjah and sacrificing animal.
4. Baitoota (staying) in Mina for 11th and 12th Nights of Zulhijjah. Hitting Shaitaan with pebbles to all 3 of them, 7 to each one. Between sunrise and sunset.
5. Tawaaf of Hajj e Tamatto followed by Namaaz of Tawaaf.
6. Sa'ee between Safa and Marwah.
7. Tawaafun Nisa and its Namaaz.

No comments: